

PREVIEW FOUR HILLS TOURNAMENT - 29 Dec 2022 to 6 Jan 2023

Four Hills Tournament

- The Four Hills Tournament will be held for the 71st time. It has been held every year since the inaugural edition in 1953.
- Janne Ahonen won the Four Hills Tournament a record five times. Jens Weißflog follows on four overall victories.
- Three ski jumpers completed the Grand Slam by winning all four events in a single edition: Sven Hannawald (2001/02), Kamil Stoch (2017/18) and Ryoyu Kobayashi (2018/19).
- The last ski jumper to claim the overall victory in the Four Hills Tournament despite winning none of the four events was Janne Ahonen in 1998/99 (5th, 2nd, 2nd, 2nd).
- In the history of the Four Hills Tournament, only once the victory was shared by multiple ski jumpers: Janne Ahonen and Jakub Janda finished on exactly the same amount of points after four events in 2005/06.
- Jens Weißflog and Björn Wirkola both won a record 10 different events within the Four Hills Tournament.
- Austria, Finland and Germany (including East and West Germany) all won the the overall in the Four Hills Tournament a record 16 times. Norway is next on 10 wins.
- Oberstdorf will host the opening event of the Four Hills Tournament for the 69th time. The exceptions came in the inaugural edition 1952/53 (Garmisch-Partenkirchen) and 1971/72 (Innsbruck).

Dawid Kubacki

- Dawid Kubacki won four of the opening eight individual men's World Cup events this season, including the most recent one, in Engelberg on 18 December. Kubacki's four wins are already a personal best in a single World Cup season.
- Kubacki begins this Four Hills Tournament as leader in the World Cup standings. He has worn the yellow bib as the overall leader after each of the opening eight individual World Cup events of this season.
- Only one of the last six editions was won by the ski jumper who entered the Four Hills Tournament as the World Cup leader: by Ryoyu Kobayashi in 2018/19.
- Kubacki won the Four Hills Tournament in 2019/20. He could join Kamil Stoch (3) as only Polish ski jumper to have won the tournament multiple times.
- Four of the last six editions were won by Polish ski jumpers: Kamil Stoch (3) and Kubacki himself (1). Poland had claimed the victory only once in the first 64 editions: by Adam Malysz in 2000/01.

Information provided by





Ryoyu Kobayashi

- Ryoyu Kobayashi won the Four Hills Tournament last season. It was his second victory, after his win in 2018/19.
- Kobayashi could become the first ski jumper to win back-to-back Four Hills Tournaments since Kamil Stoch achieved this in 2016/17 and 2017/18.
- Kobayashi is the only man to finish in the top 10 in each of the last four Four Hills Tournaments (1st in 2018/19, 4th in 2019/20, 6th in 2020/21 and 1st in 2021/22).
- Kobayashi has won eight Four Hills events, including three last season. Only Björn Wirkola (10), Jens Weißflog (10), Janne Ahonen (9) and Gregor Schlierenzauer (9) have won as many.
- This season, Kobayashi's best result in an individual World Cup event was a seventh place in Wisla on 5 November.

Kamil Stoch

- Kamil Stoch won three of the last six editions on the Four Hills Tournament: in 2016/17, 2017/18 and 2020/21.
- Stoch could become the third man to win the competition at least four times, after Janne Ahonen (5) and Jens Weißflog (4). Björn Wirkola (3) and Helmuth Recknagel (3) also emerged victorious three times.
- Stoch's most recent podium finish in an individual World Cup event was a third place in Klingenthal on 11 December 2021.

Other contenders

- Marius Lindvik and Halvor Egner Granerud are hoping to become the first Norwegian winner of the Four Hills Tournaments since Anders Jacobsen in 2006/07. Last season, Lindvik finished second and Granerud became third.
- Granerud has yet to win his first Four Hills event. He finished runner-up in Garmisch-Partenkirchen on 1 January 2021, in Oberstdorf on 29 December 2021 and in Bischofshofen on 6 January 2022.
- Anže Lanišek can become the third ski jumper representing Slovenia to win the Four Hills Tournament, after Primož Peterka in 1996/97 and Peter Prevc in 2015/16.
- Lanišek (G3-S2-B1) has recorded six individual podium finishes in the 2022/23 World Cup season, joint-most alongside Dawid Kubacki (6).
- Stefan Kraft (2014/15) was the last Austrian winner of the Four Hills Tournament. Since that triumph in 2014/15, the only Austrian ski jumper to reach the overall podium was Michael Hayböck: third in 2015/16.
- Austrian ski jumpers have not won any of the previous seven editions of the Four Hills Tournament, directly after winning the competitions seven times in a row from 2008/09 to 2014/15.
- The only other time Austria had no ski jumper on the overall podium in six consecutive editions of the Four Hills Tournament was from 1967/68 to 1973/74 (7).

Information provided by





- **Karl Geiger** is hoping to become the first German winner of the Four Hills Tournament since Sven Hannawald in 2001/02. Germany's current winning drought of 20 editions is the longest for the country (including East and West Germany).
- Since Hannawald's victory in 2001/02, German ski jumpers finished runnerup in the overall standings five times: Hannawald (2002/03), Severin Freund (2015/16), Andreas Wellinger (2017/18), Markus Eisenbichler (2018/19) and Geiger himself (2020/21).

International Ski Federation www.fis-ski.com Gracenote Sports on Twitter @GracenoteGold



Information provided by